No Elections in South Pasadena, Gulfport

Gulfport’s Ward Two Councilwoman Christine Brown and Ward Four Councilman Michael Fridovich have won their elections without spending a dime.

In both races, the incumbents face no competition and have won re-election by default. Both candidates won the previous election by default as well, although Brown ran unsuccessfully twice before against former councilwoman Michele King.

City Clerk Lesley DeMuth will re-swear in both representatives at the March 17 council meeting.

The last time Gulfport did not have an election was 2006, when Ted Philips, Ward One, and Bob Worthington, Ward Three, both ran unopposed.

South Pasadena has canceled its elections. Only two candidates qualified for office: Incumbent Gail Neidinger and new commissioner Lari Johnson. Neidinger will remain in office for another two years. Bruce Howry reached the end of his term limit; Johnson will take his seat.

Don't be shy. Tell us what you think.