St. Pete Beach Elects Establishment Commissioners, Rejects Raise

Voters elected an incumbent and former mayor in the St. Pete Beach Municipal Election on Tuesday, March 15. Incumbent District 1 Commissioner Terri Finnerty received 60 percent of votes cast by 935 District 1 voters to beat out Lorraine Huhn who received 40 percent of the vote.

Ward Friszolowski, who formerly served as St. Pete Beach mayor for eight years, won the District 3 seat with 54 percent of the vote from 1,135 total District 3 voters, while opponent Deborah Schechner received 46 percent of the vote.

“I want to thank the voters for having the confidence in me,” said Friszolowski via email Wednesday. “I am excited about the opportunity to work with the current City Commission, City Administration, residents and business owners to make improvements to our wonderful community.”

Voters rejected the city-wide Charter Amendment to increase compensation for city commissioners and the mayor-commissioner for the first time in 18 years.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *